The first time I entered a reining class, and went to see my score after my run, (the score cards are usually posted once the class is finished), I needed an interpreter to understand what I was looking at!!
So here is an example of a score card with some scores. (Click on image for a larger view) I will explain MY understanding on the first few scores. Then there is the test:
1. Note at the top of the card "Maneuver Scores"-Judges can award or detract points from each maneuver from -11/2 up to +11/2
2. "Maneuver Description"- Depending on the pattern, Judges write in the description of each maneuver in the order they are to be performed.
RC (Right circles-includes large fast and small slow)
RS (Right spins-in NRHA patterns that includes 4 spins)
LC (Left circles-includes large fast and small slow)
LS (Left spins- includes 4 spins)
8 (this is a figure 8 maneuver with a flying lead change both directions)
LRB (this includes a sliding stop with a roll back to the left)
RRB (this includes a sliding stop with a roll back to the right)
SB (this includes a sliding stop with a back up)
3. Riders start with a score of 70. They are given a score of "0" if they perform the maneuver correctly. The judge can award "bonus" marks (up to 11/2 points) or can assign "minus" marks (up to -11/2). These scores are recored in the "SCORE" box. If the rider has a penalty on any maneuver, the penalty marks go in the "PENALTY " box for that maneuver. Read my prior post on what constitutes a penalty!!
SO LETS LOOK AT DRAW# 1.....
Maneuver 1 (Right Circles) No + or - points so he stays at 70
Maneuver 2(Right Spins) He did the maneuver "good" so he was awarded a +1/2 BUT he got a 1/2 penalty! (possibly over or under spun-a common penalty in this maneuver)
Maneuver 3 (Left Circles) - He did "good"so he earned a +1/2
Maneuver 4 (Left Spins)- he scored a -1/2. (some reasons for this are not being on your marker, or incorrect pivot foot, or resistance in the horse)
Maneuver 5 (Figure 8, lead changes) He performed this maneuver correctly, scoring a "0", BUT he got a penalty point (This could possibly be for not switching leads through center)
Maneuvers 6-8- He performed "good" on his stops, rollbacks and backups so scored +1/2 on each of these maneuvers.
SO LETS ADD IT UP!
START at 70 add 2 and 1/2 points for plus scores, and take away a -1/2 for maneuver #4=72 NOW MINUS his Penalty Points (1 and 1/2) = FINAL SCORE 70 1/2
HOW ABOUT DRAW #2?
You will notice that he got a "0" Score in the Penalty box for Maneuver #4 (Left Spins) A "0" Score indicates that you have done something wrong-gone off pattern for example, so will receive a final Score of "0". THIS IS BAD!!-but very common-ALL RIDERS GET THIS SCORE A SOME POINT! Even the pros!! The judge will mark the rest of your pattern though, so you still can see how you performed.
SO, Here is the Test:
1. See if you can determine how the judge arrived at his final score for Draw #3 (I want this ride!!)
2. On runs 4 and 5, What are the assessed penalty points? What is the final score for each rider? Post your answers in the COMMENTS box-NO Cheating (by looking at other people's answers first) HINT!! These are scores more typical of beginner riders(ME!!)
ALSO, If you have read my description, and see any mistakes I've made, please post a comment and correct me!!